Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Top Five(?) Tuesday | 5 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads

Hi everyone :).  Today I thought I would do Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme created by the lovely The Broke and the Bookish!  This week's top ten are 10 of my most recent 5 star reads, but I decided to only do my most recent 5, because 10 seemed like too much (work lol).

*Disclaimer: I'm a pretty easy-to-please reader, so I give out 5 stars pretty often.  However, I always rate books truthfully, so these recent 5-star reads are all ones that I absolutely love and definitely recommend!!


1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (ACOTAR #1)

Synopsis: When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Why the 5 stars?: Okay so technically I haven't finished this one yet but I'm so in love with it so far that there's no way that this isn't going to be a 5-star.  Beauty and the Beast re-tellings are my weakness...


2. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #2)

Synopsis: If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

Why the 5 stars?:  Although Red Queen didn't get a 5 stars from me because of the slow beginning, Glass Sword definitely exceeded my expectations and beyond!


3. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Synopsis: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

Why the 5 stars?: This book broke my heart in all the best ways.  Definitely one of those books that stays with you for a long time.  I'm scared for the movie because I know it's going to be a repeat of TFIOS (a.k.a 2 hours of sobbing).


4. Earth's End by Elise Kova (Air Awakens #3)

Synopsis: A woman awoken in air, a soldier forged by fire, a weapon risen from blood.

Vhalla Yarl has made it to the warfront in the North. Forged by blood and fire, she has steeled her heart for the final battle of the Solaris Empire’s conquest. The choices before Vhalla are no longer servitude or freedom, they are servitude or death. The stakes have never been higher as the Emperor maintains his iron grip on her fate, holding everything Vhalla still has left to lose in the balance.

Why the 5 stars?: This series blows me away every time.  Somehow, each book is even better than the last.  I don't know how I'm even going to survive book 5!


5. Winter by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

Synopsis: Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Why the 5 stars?: I love this series to death and this was the perfect ending to it!  I loved every bit of it, even though it's so long (824 pages!!).


That's it for my 5 of my most recent 5 star reads!  Have you read any of these books; and if so, did you rate them 5 stars?  Let me know in the comments!